Where ART thou?

4 Feb

Alright, so here we are, together again, and once again I’m gonna show you some art of the world and some art of my own. I’m having a darn good week if you ask me, mostly cause I don’t have a lot of work to worry about before reading break when UBC is off for over two weeks and the Olympics roll in. This week I was browsing through the stuff I’ve painted and wanted to find something similar out there in the world. I stumbled upon (not using stumbleupon) a really interesting abstract painting by a man named Timothy Sorsdahl who does a lot of really amazing abstract nature paintings that I really recommend checking out. This one in particular is called From Dusk like Candlesticks Light my Path till Dawn.

I really like this one just because of the raw simplicity of the scene but also because of the extreme attention to detail. The use of warm colours in the foreground and cool colours in the skyline really draw your attention to how both are brought together and it makes for a eye catching painting.

Now, for my painting. This one was done last year and is one of my personal favourites in my collection. The story behind this painting is actually kind of interesting. I was at a show put on by one of my friends who is in a band. While listening to them play I just decided that I felt like drawing so I grabbed a napkin and a pen and drew the concept for this painting, which turned out much better than the initial idea I had in my head. The painting is called Autumn Sunrise, which basically takes two things that I think are really awesome, the fall season and sunrises, and mashes ’em together. So there you go, enjoy!

One Response to “Where ART thou?”

  1. jyrc February 7, 2010 at 8:23 PM #

    woww…I had no idea you were such an artist. Your piece is actually amazing, I really admire your creativity. Keep it up. The graffiti house was amazing, check our banksy’s work (if you haven’t already). He inspires me to vandalize for a better cause. ūüôā

Leave a Reply

